Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Due to advances in technologies, safety can be implemented by the access to citizen's private messages and phone calls records. While some people claim that it is an extremely positive development, others believe that this data is personal and without special permission, the availability of this information should not be given to somebody. This essay will argue that the private life of people is one of the human rights and should not be broken. To begin with, access to personal messages could potentially prevent crimes, because the police would know in advance about planning of committing a crime and could take measures to deter crime rates in general. As a result, crimes would not be committed by offenders because of the fear of being captured and it could result in a better life in society and an increase in national security. On the other hand, access to private messages and phone calls is the direct meddling in the personal life of citizens, and this information could be used by the government for their own reasons, which are not connected with crimes. One of the civil rights is the right to private life. So, if an individual does not break the rules, his personal life is only his own information, and this right should not be violated by any structure. Additionally, having access to citizens' private information could be used by the government in elections and, as a result, to create a more strict government mode in the country. In conclusion, private information could be used in both positive, such as the pre-emption of crimes, and negative strategies, such as the invasion of privacy. However, I believe that civil rights are crucial for a healthy society and private data should not be available without permission.