49.Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some say that a stable punishment should be used for every type of violation, while others would argue that each situation and reason why someone perform a crime should be considered. This essay would argue that although people may have difficulties, is not a reason for breaking the laws. On the one hand, individuals need to face different problems during all their life, and the first thing that it came to their mind for solving the problem, can be by commiting crimes. This is because problem normally are related to money, so people who do not have money are enable to buy food or allow their children to go to school, so all their family do not have future. Also, for going to the hospital and healing diseases, money is needed, then, some people can’t find another way to get out from their situation and the easiest and quickest way is by stealing. For example, around 30% of robbery cases are due to the insufficient amount of money they have for the treatment that they need to pay, and these people thought that stealing was the faster way to get the enough money. However, I believe that there are other better ways to solve the problem, such as asking friends and other family members. On the other hand, depending on the crime commited people should have the same punishment. This will decrease the crime cases, since they may think that is not profitable to carry out a crime and have more serious consequences than they think. If all cases are studied and analysed, some individuals may lie and play self pity, trying to reduce the penalization. For example, it is said that when people kill someone, these criminals should be put to death, but relatives of children under 18 will say that even though they have killed someone they are kids, so cannot be punished. And as children know that they do not need to take legal responsibilities, they are not worried. I believe this point of view is preferable because cases of crime will significantly decline. In conclusion, although everybody has their own issues, this is not the reason why people can carry out crimes, and this is why, in my opinion, is better to establish especified punishment for each crime.