The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more people believe that it is essential for the government to use stricter penalties in order to reduce the large number of accidents and protect the safety of drivers. From my perspective, I partly agree with this phenomenon as I suppose that there are better ways to address these transportation-related issues. On the one hand, there are many reasons why imposing stricter punishments for criminal driving is extremely important. More and more people using personal vehicles violate the law such as running red lights, speeding or driving drunk, leading to thousands of casualties every year. Thus, strict punishment plays an important role in improving many adverse problems related to traffic accidents. These disciplines, such as paying a heavy fine or banning them from driving for a period of time, can instill fear and discourage lawbreakers from driving again. For example, if a driver violates traffic laws, he will be given a heavy fine to remind him that he should not do it again. On the other hand, the government should combine stricter laws with other effective measures to promote better driving habits. One suggestion is to launch campaigns related to education about proper driving behavior and the consequences of committing driving offenses in order to raise people's awareness. Another approach is to increase the legal driving age of young people, which means that they will have more time to sharpen their driving skills. Thus, the combination of these methods can create more desired results than relying on only one. In conclusion, not only severe punishment for driving offences but also other measures contribute to heightening people's awareness and improving road safety.