Some people believe university education aims to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern era, certifications from prestigious universities are expected to offer employees better job opportunities. Others, however, hold the view that a university education provides a wide range of merits to the community as well as individuals. From my perspective, I partly agree with these points of view. On the one hand, people, who ponder studying at universities will help graduates get better career prospects, have their justifications. There are several reasons ranging from the increasingly competitive job market to relevant knowledge. An explanation for this could be that the labor market is becoming more and more competitive in this present time due to our developing society. For example, there may be hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Therefore, in order to compete with the opponents, people must have some academic degree or soft skills such as communication and collaboration skills. Additionally, some job -relating experience and skills may be merely educated at universities that will lay a stable foundation for people’s future careers. For these reasons, people tend to be concerned about university education to have a better job. On the other hand, with a university education, individuals and society will be beneficial in terms of self-development and economic boosting. Firstly, the independence of living away from home is a good way for the students to develop better social skills and enhance themselves. A case in point is that many students will have to leave their families, live in halls of residence, and meet new friends. As a result, their maturity and confidence will grow to enable them to live more fulfilling lives. Secondly, society will gain from the contribution that graduates can make to the economy since in this competitive world, nations need well-educated labor forces in order to compete and prosper. In conclusion, though the main aim of university education is to get better job performance, there are further benefits. If the states continue to promote and encourage university attendance, it will lead to a better future for both individuals and society.