Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the invention of the computer has profoundly transformed our contemporary society. While there are numerous benefits produced by computers, I would strongly disagree with this view because there have been other important creations over the past ten decades as important as the computer. On the one hand, there are many reasons to explain why people view the computer as the most important invention of the last hundred years. A significant benefit of computers is the innovation of information processes, which makes information storage and analysis more accessible so that everyone can do it. In my school, for example, now we can obtain our GPA immediately just by a click in software like Excel, but about 20 years ago when computers had not become popular in university it might have taken us an entire day to get it. Additionally, the rapid development of computer games encourages people to spend more time which is used to enjoy other entertainment on the computer, enhancing the importance of computers for people. Nevertheless, I believe in the past ten decades, inventions in other fields such as medicine and space exploration should be considered as significant as computers. Firstly, past 100 years humans have successfully developed numerous new medicines which have assisted millions of people recovering from severe diseases and prolonged the anticipated lifetime of current people. Another invention that should be regarded as the technique of space exploration, providing people with a new angle to survey the universe and planet we are living on. Thanks to this development, now we can launch rockets to Mars and analyse materials of its soil which was impossible for people living 100 years ago. Furthermore, it is not even a dream for us to migrate to Mars within 50 years future. In conclusion, while computers undoubtedly help us address some problems, I still contend that there are some innovations that should be deemed as important as the computer such as medicine and space exploration.