Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, a major percentage of the global population lives in cities. As a consequence, the main issue facing many large cities worldwide is overcrowding. In the remainder of this essay, some causes of this phenomenon will be explored as well as possible alternatives to address it. Both migration from rural areas to urban areas and the lack of jobs in small and mid-sized cities, lead the list of factors driving the overpopulation in megacities. Firstly, during the 20th century large migrations from the countryside to cities occurred and these happened for different reasons. For example, in Colombia, due to the civil war many people left their farms and moved to cities. As a result, the urban population increased dramatically between 1990 and 2000. Another key factor, is the insufficient number of jobs in towns for young people. As a consequence, these individuals relocate to large cities ’ industrial areas. In order to mitigate the overpopulation issue is possible that governments and companies to take actions. To begin with, governments could introduce incentives to encourage former farming families to back to rural areas, such as offering a reduction of taxes. Also, companies and public agencies can introduce rules to allow remote jobs of their workers. For instance, I currently live in a small city in the center of Mexico but the offices of my employer are located in Mexico City. Clearly, actions of governments and the private sector together can advance in order to reduce the population in megacities. To summarize, overcrowding is a critical issue worldwide that is caused for many factors. However, regulations and a change in perspective about remote work could have a positive effect on mitigating this phenomenon.