Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education for the adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, whether education for the young is vital in nations has sparked much debate. Some people assert that countries should mainly focus on people from a young age, whereas others argue that the government should allocate more money to educating the adult group who do not have the ability to read and write. From my perspective, I strongly believe that money should be spent on helping illiterate adults to learn. On the one hand, it is undoubtedly vital to focus on educating children from a young age since it will provide opportunities for the youth to develop their fundamental knowledge, therefore decreasing the number of illiterate citizens in the future. Furthermore, education in schools has been the main priority in multiple nations throughout the past few decades to enhance the country’s workforce. For example, in Vietnam, the government spends billions of dollars, which is nearly 10% of the country’s GDP, on the education field each year with the purpose of funding the young generation, therefore developing the economy in the future. On the other hand, countries deciding to invest in millennials who do not know how to write and read will reap financial rewards. This is because the investment will bring a better-educated workforce, thus fostering the growth of the economy and the country’s development. With the main concentration on illiterate adults, the corollary of this would be a sustainable economy and a better society. Moreover, since adults who are not capable of reading or writing often have tremendous difficulties in social and professional life, literacy courses will provide them with the necessary knowledge to overcome such problems. For instance, participants of these classes will no longer feel helpless when they need to read a piece of story to their children before going to bed or write an email to their friends. Ultimately, they will not be deprived of promotion opportunities solely on their basis of literacy skills, or the lack thereof. In conclusion, although this is still a multifaceted problem that we have to be more considerable in the near future, I strongly believe that giving access to education to illiterate adults should be adapted more widely, therefore developing the country’s economy more efficiently.