The fake news is becoming increasingly common in the era of social media. What problems will it cause to individuals and the society? Suggest some measures to deal with it.

There is no doubt that these days a lot of news is not real. The question is, what are the consequences of this problem on both individuals and society? In this essay, I am going to discuss these consequences and also provide some suggestions and regulations in order to solve this issue. In terms of problems, fake news could lead to an increase in the rate of ignorance of the overall society. The main reason given to support this claim is that when individuals believe fake news, this causes them to build completely wrong beliefs. Accordingly, they will react or think based on these beliefs. To illustrate, in some countries such as Egypt, which is my own country, many people tend to believe fake news or videos as genuine. When I was scrolling on Instagram, I saw a video in German language, which had a completely incorrect Arabic translation. Surprisingly, people started commenting on that video with many arguments and debates - based on the wrong translation. Moreover, fake news could come from anywhere, including TV shows, articles, videos, or even false scientific information. In order to address this problem, regulations on social media content must take place. There must be, for example, a good AI or an algorithm that prevents the fake information from being shared with other users. Secondly, people must pay a fine if they intend to spread fake news. Another solution is that individuals use their common sense to differentiate between the real and the false information. In fact, they should rely only on credible resources, such as CNN or Extra News. In conclusion, it is evident that fake news is becoming so popular nowadays, and so people's ignorance is increasing. Therefore, both governments and social media companies must ensure steps are taken to prevent this phenomenon from deteriorating further.