Some hold the view that ideas and information should be completely open-there should be no controls on what people can read and watch in the media (TV, newspapers, Internet). Do you agree with this view, or do you think that in some circumstances governments should limit the freedom of the media?

Nowadays, the majority of people all over the world get essential information from the media such as TV, the internet, newspapers, and so on. But does all information on the media need to be completely open? Most people claim that media users should have absolute freedom on what they are watching. I disagree with that idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, not all information in the media is valid. For instance, the data about the end of the world that pops out yearly. These sorts of sites are created in order to make an unnecessary fuss in society. Moreover, usually, little kids are not able to differentiate the true information and absolute nonsense. As a result, kids believe in every piece of information they see on TV and this can lead to various serious consequences. Another reason why I disagree with giving complete freedom in media is that people can easily become deceived by websites, that can later use their personal data with bad intentions. For example, websites where you download music can infect your computer with a virus. However, some people argue that limiting information can affect society badly. As individuals learn, get the necessary information, and keep up to date in media, controlling information will simply ban access to half of all important data, therefore people will not be able to read or watch on some sites. For instance, society will not be allowed to watch series and films for free, as they use pirate sites, that are most likely to get banned. In summary, although it is a common belief that people should have complete freedom in using media, I believe the government should take sites that are not official and provocative sites under control.