In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of the ageing population has been growing over the past decades and it is mentioned that it has been giving negative impacts to the goverment in many differnet countries. This phenomenon has pros and cons, but this essay will explain the advantages of having the older age group outweigh the disadvantages. It is known widely that people in this age group are no longer productive which means that they no longer have a source of income and considered to be the "financial burden" for the country. Healthcare is one of the most expensive expenses most old people spend on because of their health issues. Thus, the having them would create more expenses for their families and for the country as well. However, the older generation are needed and can be useful in several aspects. Firtsly, they are the source of income for nursing homes and also the medical industry since most of their consumers are from this age group. It shows that they give an impact towards the economy. Secondly, the wisdom and knowledge that they have carried are needed to be passed on future generations as a source of education or apprenticeship. For example, most professional luthiers are older than the age of 65 since the skills are obtained by learning on experiences that they have gone through their whole lives. Therefore, youngsters need an apprenticeship from an experienced elderly to pass on the skills that are needed by the community. In conclusion, although people who are already in the unproductive age are giving financial burden for the economy at some point, they are still needed in the society for their skills as a source of knowledge and also a source of income for several industries.