Some people think although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether extending working hours can contribute to a more prosperous economic system, but lead to many unpredicted social problems. I completely agree with this idea. On the one hand, it is beneficial for the development of the national economy to prolong their working hours. Firstly, countries that encourage longer workdays and weeks tend to have higher productivity levels and economic growth because they can produce more commodities and products within a limited time compared with those nations with shorter working hours. For example, Japan has a reputation for its intensive work culture, characterized by extensive overtime, which plays a pivotal role in Japan’s economic development, leading it to be one of the most successful economies. Additionally, this behaviour also can lower the costs on labourers, attracting more overseas companies to establish a factory there and would further lead to its economic prosperity. However, the influences on society cannot also be ignored. To begin with, extending working time would lead to the degradation of workers’ physical health and further exert negative impacts on their mental health. For instance, in countries where people are routinely working long hours, there may be an increase in stress-related health issues such as obesity due to their lack of physical exercise and irregular diets. Besides, this working pattern would also result in a strained family relationship with their family members, and even cause the absence of due care in the upbringing of their children, which poses a threat to the stability of families. Furthermore, it also hinders the creativity of workers in their work due to their burnout, exhaustion, and demotivation towards work, leading to a lower level of productivity in the long term. In conclusion, while there are many benefits to force their employees to work longer, I would argue it would hinder the overall development of the nation in the long term.