Government investment in the art, such as music and theaters is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

According to the prompt, the government should spend the majority of its expenditure in the field of public services while ignoring humanitarian studies e.g., music and theatres. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this perspective for two reasons. However, there is one drawback that will be discussed. First of all, utilizing economic resources to serve the citizens is a good sign because people having better infrastructures, and transport systems will give them extra time to spend with their family and friends. For example, an individual working in a remote area of China until 5 p.m., following completion of the scheduled work can quickly go back to his family with the help of a recently constructed bullet train. In addition, with an improved transportation system, a person living in Beijing can have a face-to-face meeting with his beloved friends with ease who are now in Wuhan. This is clearly a positive trend because as a human it makes us socialise and create an invaluable bond with our loved ones. Secondly, increasing spending in the public sector is advantageous because every community member will enjoy better health care with affordable money, which is economical, and parents now can have extra savings that can be diverted to child care such as child education. Notwithstanding, ignoring humanitarian studies and thinking this is a waste of money has one disadvantage: loss of self-consciousness. For instance, Mozambique which is an African country recently removed sociology from its academic curriculum as a result the adolescent population now facing a crisis of self-isolation. Consequently, this self-isolation from the real world is the root cause of severe mental health problems, e.g., depression, insecurity, and inferiority complexity, which is a common phenomenon observed in recent years. In conclusion, allocating a large chunk of government funds for improving public services is primarily a positive thing for the two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect perspective and mental health problem is a pressing issue that we need to deal with.