Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is believed that the benefits that reading for pleasure brings about far outweigh that of watching TV. As far as I am concerned, it is completely true that reading enjoyment can improve imagination and language skills. Firstly, it is worth considering that reading engages creativity. Research has shown that browsing through texts is an act of play - one that allows us to experience different worlds in our imagination. For example, while screens show off every detail, books require our brains to constantly visualise images of figures and interpret the flow of the story. In other words, reading can be seen as a creative and interactive process compared to the passive act of looking at the television. Secondly, reading for pleasure can be referred to as an independent and recreational activity that provides a strong foundation for critical, digital and information literacy. Specifically, reading materials contain advanced vocabulary and complicated grammatical structures which can contribute greatly to expanding students' breadth of knowledge. Additionally, experts claim that joyful reading is an important prerequisite to becoming an effective learner. Particularly, independent reading can promote reading attainment and writing ability. It also encourages text comprehension and grammar understanding. In contrast, conversations in shows or programmes often lack depth and are informal; thus, watching TV does not effectively empower us with the development of cognitive functions. To summarise, reading is meant to be a purposeful and exciting experience whose benefits are extensive and far-reaching. Turning pages is closely associated with an increase in vocabulary range and grammatical structures, as well as an improvement in creative ability. To my mind, reading is not only a leisure activity but also a social practice as well.