In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is true that international tourism income has become a significant source of the domestic budget in many countries. While international tourism can help the national economy prosperous, I deem that it has more defects than benefits if a country over-reliance on it. On the one hand, I agree that guests from other countries can help local economic growth. From a personal perspective, enormous visitors result in good sales, which can help residents earn enough money to consume what they like, improving their living standards. From a social level, foreign visitors also have contributed to reducing the unemployment rate in many countries. This is mainly because if a country wants to become an attractive destination for national tourists, it is essential to provide an engaging service for them, which means hotels and scenic spots in this country need to employ more labour. However, we can't ignore the jeopardize if a country mainly relies on international tourism and gives up other economic sources. Firstly, taking international tourism as a pivotal source of income will lead to a single economic structure which is too simple to address major international emergencies. Take Thailand, for example, this country is a famous travel destination around the world and its national budget mainly depends on international tourists, so the breakout of COVID-19 decreased the number of travelers leading to a serious economic crisis in Thailand. Additionally, addicting to develop national travel may make the administrators in a country ignore the importance of prosperous industries which are usually considered as the backbone of a country's economy. To summarize, although international tourism may bring some benefits to a country's economy, I still believe it has more disadvantages than merits considering the aftereffect of the frail domestic economy.