More and more people are becoming overweight. Some people suggest that increasing the price of fattening food is a solution,to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many countries around the world, more and more people are getting obese. It is argued that one of the solutions is to raise the price of fattening food. I completely disagree with this opinion. The primary reason for holding my view is that ready-made food, such as McDonald's, is a cheaper dietary option compared to other meals and restaurants for the poor in some nations. Take a clear example, research reveals that fast food has become one of the cheaper foods in Swiss and other countries. In this case, a large proportion of the poor have no other choice but to choose those to consume. Accordingly, if the price of high-fat food is increased, it is possible to make the poor suffer from hunger. Secondly, ready-made foods are not the only factor that makes people overweight. In other words, a variety of reasons may give rise to obesity, for instance, a lack of exercise, heavy pressure, and getting older are also factors that lead to the problem of being overweight. Therefore, if those prices are raised, not only will it not effectively solve the obesity problem, but it will also deprive people of their food options. As a result, in my opinion, it should advocate the importance of a healthy diet instead of increasing the price of fattening food. In conclusion, I disagree with increasing the price since those are some of the food options for some specific groups in society; moreover, food is not the only reason for the obesity problem.