Band-9 Samples: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the increasing level of global awareness surrounding medical issues, whether or not people are seeking any other methods instead of normal western medical treatment when they are not well has become a widely debated topic. While some people believe that there are metrics to follow in normal practice, others maintain that we could use other methods to treat ourselves. In the essay, I will explore the reasons behind this phenomenon and argue that it constitutes a largely beneficial development in alternative medicine.   To start with, people hold the belief that non-traditional medicines have fewer side effects than traditional ones. One striking example is the natural treatment that doesn't recommend taking pills immediately when you are feeling ill; it is replaced by applying some oil extracted from natural products, like lemon, lavender, mint, etc., to the body. This kind of treatment doesn’t contain any side effects that taking ordinary drugs may have, for instance, dizziness and nausea. It can also boost our immune system instead of relying on drugs. On the contrary, people argue that not treating diseases properly according to the usual method may delay treatment and cause serious health problems. For instance, fever can develop into brain pneumonia if it is not handled properly. However, patients seeking uncommon methods to heal themselves say that either because the illness is not heavy and they can try natural treatments first or no regular medicine can heal them, for example, the final stage of cancer, which should not have more harmful effects and may be the last chance for them. To conclude, the advantages of having alternative treatments are that they have fewer side effects and could not have adverse effects on the disease. Using them to solve health problems is obvious; it is predominantly a positive development.