Students generally prefer to choose the period they are supposed to study and the period they are free to have fun. They should be allowed to do their time management. Do you agree or disagree?

Some today feel that university students should focus completely on their studies, while others feel it is important to have diverse interests and activities. In my opinion, extracurriculars are a key part of the university experience. Those who advocate students dedicating themselves solely to academics can point out the singular learning opportunity. An undergraduate is typically paying large sums of money, burdening themselves with student debt in most cases, to become an expert in a given field. This is the only period in life they will have to study a single, chosen subject without the pressures of work. Freedom from a job allows them to invest fully in academics and learn the theories and skills that will form the basis of their entire professional career. Some would argue that there is little value in diluting this experience by taking on other responsibilities. Nonetheless, outside activities are also an important element of higher education. There are countless examples of successful individuals who joined a comedy or art club unrelated to their major and later ended up working in that field. Even those who do not receive such tangible rewards from their extracurriculars can learn a lot. For example, a student may opt to become involved with a local charity, or university initiative or work a part-time job. These will all be formative experiences and may be more memorable and useful for them than the subject they study. Many graduates today switch career paths soon after university regardless, so the respective value of these other activities will increase as they look back on their college experience and recognize what was truly instrumental in their development. In conclusion, though the university is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to focus on a single subject, I believe finding activities outside the classroom also has value. Students should prioritise academics but not ignore the full breadth of learning experiences.