More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, official meetings are frequently conducted virtually. While online meetings offer obvious benefits, such as flexible schedules, and ease of holding urgent meetings, they are susceptible to challenges like lack of attention in non-office environments, or disruptions due to bad internet connectivity. Online meetings allow greater adjustments in the timetable. This is primarily because virtual meetings remove the necessity of conducting them in the conference rooms, making it possible to plan the meeting schedules at suitable times. Moreover, due to the same reason, issues requiring immediate attention can be discussed online even at peculiar times of the day or night, helping the officials to come to a decision. Therefore, virtual communication can overcome the time constraints of office meetings, resulting in greater control. Notwithstanding the advantages, online meetings can be heavily affected by internet issues and not work-related interruptions. Fluctuations in internet bandwidth or occasional breakages can lead to meeting delays, or even worse, miscommunications. On top of that, since the attendees normally join the meetings from home, there are possibilities of their focus being diverted from the meetings to something else. For instance, the senior executives at Grameenphone recently addressed that the attendees are routinely engaging in other activities during the meetings held online, which have become a major cause of the extension of the meeting duration. In conclusion, there has been an increasing trend of businesses shifting their meetings online. Despite the apparent advantages, which are, arranging meetings at suitable times or following short notice, the downsides of online meetings, especially problems arising from network disconnections or outside interruptions, are hampering productivity substantially.