Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree

As a major means of information delivery, television has become a powerful tool in modern education. As a result, some people argue that it is beneficial for students who spend more time on it, be it at home or school. From my perspective, I am not in favour of the opinion, believing that it could be a poor substitute for schooling and home education. On the one hand, there is no doubt that TV is able to improve the efficiency of learning. It can not only shorten the distance of teaching by creating a visual educational environment for schoolchildren that breaks barriers of time and location, so that students living in remote areas can gain equal educational resources with their counterparts in developed regions, but also make lessons more attractive and impressive. For example, history teaching is usually boring with full of monotonous text words, which, by contrast, can grab the young’s attention if they watch well-designed documentaries on TV, thus leaving a remarkable impression and memorizing contents more easily. On the other hand, too much exposure to the screen exerts a negative impact on their both mental and physical health. For one thing, children are more likely to suffer from myopia, obesity and other kinds of diseases triggered by the sedentary lifestyle and the indulgence in watching TV programs. That is because they are addicted to screens instead of playing outside or attending sports activities. For another, excessive screen time is associated with depression and other mental problems for addictive viewers, since they normally isolate themselves from reality and others, such as parents and peers. As a result, the application of TV in education will backfire for students. In conclusion, although we should not obscure the good that comes from employing TV as a medium in both school and family education, it will put students in danger physically and mentally if the proper limitation on screen time is not adopted by educators and parents.