In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that self-confidence plays an axial role in everyone's fulfilment. Nowadays, it is becoming popular to convince youngsters that they have the capabilities to reach any objectives they want provided that they try their best. There are numerous advantages and disadvantages to this issue which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. As far as I am concerned, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, teaching children that hard work can guarantee success has a set of distinct advantages. It is needless to mention that perseverance paves the way for achieving your goals. To elaborate on my point, traces of laziness can be found in any failure. Therefore, children become tremendously motivated to burn their midnight oil to gain their desires. To cite an example, Mathew Perry, a famous American actor came from a poor family,in his book he explained that he made all his attempts to become an actor so then he could meet his father's expectations in his life. On the other hand, the biggest problem with the notion that diligence ensures achievement is that it might mislead juveniles to spend too much time and effort on a task in which hard effort plays little role. For instance, if a kid loves to become a singer, he should consider that the innate ability is of paramount importance in this profession. Otherwise, he can waste his time in voice training without considering the lack of musical talents. As a result, believing that only hard work is enough can breed frustration, irritation and even mental illness. To sum up, according to what has already been discussed in the above paragraphs, there are many merits and demerits to this notion that hard work is sufficient to achieve your goals while the upsides are more than the downsides.