Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the news is not directly related to our daily lives and that we should not spend time on such behaviours, including reading newspapers and watching news programs on TV. Hence, in this essay, I will explore some advantages and disadvantages brought by the news and explain why I consider that the news is essential for us. To begin with, the benefits generated from the news are notable because we can directly obtain abundant information and knowledge by engaging with that. For instance, from a wider perspective, by reading and watching international news, we can understand the current conditions of this planet due to diversified content. As an example, in the British publication, The Economist, the variety of information is significantly wide as some articles cover financial areas and cultural ones. Therefore, by being exposed to this type of information, we can not only broaden our perspectives but also get novel knowledge. Meanwhile, in terms of local news, there are several benefits as well. In fact, in Japan, there are hundreds of publishing companies in each region, and, by reading newspapers published by them, regional citizens can grasp the ongoing situations of their cities. In reality, they can obtain various information such as natural disasters occurred in each area and the refurbishment of the city hall, and this information enables residents to avoid dangerous areas and enjoy visiting that new city hall. In other words, both international news and local news bring abundant advantages to audiences, so they should invest their time in reading or watching the news. On the other hand, as some people argue, public content may be meaningless for some citizens. For example, international news will not benefit ordinary people because there is no way for them to utilize the information of foreign countries. Moreover, if people hate to read long sentences and to understand formal languages, they will feel uncomfortable engaging with formal content. Certainly, those aspects of the news can be stressful and meaningless from their perspectives. However, as mentioned in academic fields nowadays, we are more likely to be regarded not only as the citizens of each nation but also as the residents of this planet. Moreover, it is also true that, without knowing any information regarding the places where we live, living comfortably is impossible because the situations surrounding us change every second. Thus, spending time on various news from wider areas and fields is significantly important for us to have meaningful daily lives. In conclusion, although some people would feel that the news is irrelevant to themselves, on the surface, these behaviours, such as obtaining worldwide content and local one, are remarkably meaningful in our lives. For this reason, I completely disagree with the opinion that we should not allocate any time to read and watch the news.