Nowadays, some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is common for people to live in nursing homes after retirement, and some people view this as a negative. However, I think it will keep them mentally healthy and take the burden off their children. On the one hand, older people live in retirement, which will improve their mental health. Because there are many people in the nursing home, you can communicate and socialize with friends, and you are less likely to feel lonely. Therefore, this will help them maintain their mental health. In contrast, older adults who live alone tend to isolate themselves, which can lead to mental illness. For example, a report published by UBC showed that people with mental illness mostly live alone, proving that long-term stay in centres is the best way to maintain a good mood. On the other hand, seniors living in long-term care centres are less likely to rely on the responsibilities of their children. After retirement, they are cared for by professionals, so generally their offspring only need to visit them on weekends, leaving enough time to work or take care of their families. Others living alone may require daily attention from their children, which means this can significantly disrupt the child's life. For example, most Canadian seniors live in nursing homes and don't care about their children. In conclusion, while some people believe that older adults would be better off living at home, living in a long-term care centre is a great solution that can help them stay healthy and avoid disturbing future generations.