It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that risk is an essential and inevitable element in human lives and careers. From a personal perspective, the downside of taking risks pales in comparison with the upside, and this essay shall shed light on the justifications for this statement. On the one hand, the major drawback of taking risks is the chance of failure. This is due to humans’ inability to predict the future or read others’ minds, which may cost people their money, time, and effort. In their professional lives, for instance, job hoppers seeking vacancies in different organizations may ultimately face unemployment and poverty. In their personal lives, putting trust in friends or acquaintances means accepting the risk of betrayal, information leakage, embarrassment, or even psychological and emotional damages. These adverse consequences are the undeniable reasons why normally most people would try to avoid all risks. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the beneficial outcomes of taking risks are far more significant. First, failure, which is previously mentioned as a negative consequence, is also an opportunity for development. A rejected candidate can realize his own shortcomings for better performance in the next job interview. Similarly, failure in relationships brings lessons to improve interpersonal skills. Moreover, from a more optimistic view, venturing out of one’s comfort zone, implementing novel ideas, and embracing uncertainties can also bring success. These are among the core values of entrepreneurial spirit which created million-dollar businesses. Therefore, it can be deduced that taking risk brings benefits in case of both failure and success. In conclusion, venturing might lead to financial losses and emotional damage. However, facing new challenges facilitates improvement in case of failure and brings wealth in case of success. As a result, the advantageous impacts can overshadow the downside.