Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing discussion about whether or not studying additional subjects is significant to an individual’s growth. While there are opposing views on this phenomenon, I believe that learning supplementary courses in addition to an individual’s main major will help them to have better options in choosing their future career. On the one hand, specializing in one subject allows an individual to be qualified for specific roles or occupations. Mastering one field allows a person to be involved in a job with a higher salary as it requires deeper technical knowledge. For example, an oil engineer has a clear study path which leads them to work for a gas company and have a high starting pay. On the other hand, learning additional subjects will enlarge an individual’s knowledge in a variety of fields. Generalists will have a wide range of skills that allow them to contribute to many industries. Therefore, they will find employment with ease and have a sustainable career. For instance, individuals who learn psychology will have knowledge about human behaviour in different fields, hence why these people are able to fit into various fields from advocates at school to a human recruiting team at a technology company. To summarize, despite both views having their own benefits, I believe that studying various subjects is a rather enticing option, as most undergraduate jobs now require more general knowledge. On the contrary, the students who are interested in entering a more specific field can always learn it further in their postgraduate studies.