In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, advancements in technology and medical science have increased life expectancy significantly. A number of individuals argue that prolonged life-span results in senior citizens being accompanied by some challenges for authorities, while others believe in benefiting from the experienced population for the prosperity of society. Also, I think advantages are compensating drawbacks in this essay I will explore both these views. It is clear that increasing the life expectancy would accompany some challenges for both governments and the immediate members of families. Firstly, paying the retired population’s pension or covering insurance expenses would pose a financial burden to governments. For example, 200 milliard Rial of the total budget of my country Iran, was allocated for paying pensions in 2022. Secondly, if senior individuals are afflicted with physical or mental disabilities, their children would have to allocate more time to take care of their parents. However, I wholeheartedly believe that the senior crowds could result in tremendous benefits for society and the convenience of their children. Since having a job has become inevitable for parents to afford life expenditures, taking the responsibility of looking after grandchild by their grandparents could facilitate life affairs for the workforce. Furthermore, elderly populations could prevent spending redundant time and energy on various issues by guiding younger generations with their invaluable experiences. Thus, this group could play a crucial role in training a cautious and wise generation, resulting in the prosperity of the world. In conclusion, although the senior individuals will lead in some caring challenges or pose governments with financial pressure, the benefits of their existence are infinite, resulting in tremendous advadvantages in societies.