In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The growing of life span in developed countries is becoming more widespread in many parts of the world. There are several problems caused by this trend, and various measures could be taken to improve the situation. There are a variety of different problems of this phenomenon. To begin with, if people live for a longer period, they will need more money to live. The main reason for this is that since our retirement fund is not enough to live for a couple of decades. For an example, according to a Japanese Economic paper, 38% of Japanese who are over 70 years old concern that they may spend all their pension and will have to live without any financial support. Another significant problem to mention is that young people have to pay higher tax due to the fact that there will be more and more senior citizens eventually. For example, as stated in an Japanese Economic magazine, 75% of the work force have to pay 28% higher tax in the last 3 years, which makes them unsatisfied with the government system. Despite of these circumstances, there are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems. Firstly, a simple solution would be to adjust the tax rate for citizens who are working. If everyone can have a stable income, they will be more happy with the job and more likely to work harder. The second measure would be for individuals to learn how to earn more money and save money so they can afford expenses even after they stop working. In conclusion, the problem of life expectancy growing is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term. However, various solutions can be taken to tackle the issue to reduce the impact it is having on the current society.