Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The death rate is high in poor countries due to diseases and remote access to medication as well as its high prices. It is proposed that drug companies should sell their products for lower prices in these places. In my opinion, the costs should be reduced, however, alternatively, there are other more effective methods that could be introduced to fight the problem in developing regions. It is true that many of the diseases that are causing death are curable, however, if drugs are made accessible, but the environment in which people are living is not made better, the diseases have a higher risk of coming back. Therefore, I agree that by lowering the prices more people in poor countries will be able to afford drugs and as a result increase the chances to stay alive. Nevertheless, factors causing diseases should be minimized, such as creating better sanitation and creating access to clean drinking water to fight the problem of deaths. Another solution is for big drug companies to actively support non-profit organizations to fight inequality in poor countries by donating vaccines to develop people's immune systems for many of the most common diseases. Although this practice will not generate profit for the companies, it will create a more responsible image for them. Alternatively, if it is possible, governments in poor countries could subsidize medicine for families with kids or people with low incomes. To conclude, there are many ways to reduce the amount of deaths caused by diseases, which are, in my opinion, more effective than lowering the prices of drugs. These are fighting the causes of diseases, subsidies, and donations in the form of vaccines.