Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, what duties citizens take has become a widely debated topic. While many people believe that they only need to pay the taxes, others maintain that they should do more than that. This essay will delve into both viewpoints, ultimately advocating for the latter stance. To start with, some residents hold the belief that they pay a portion of their income to the government according to how much they earn. They contribute more than those low-salary groups that do not need to pay anything. After gathering the tax income, the government should allocate the spending. They don’t require to do anything else. For instance, the government should hire cleaners to maintain the cleanliness of streets, police to keep order, and social workers to help elders. Hence, everyone has their own responsibilities, and they solely pay taxes. In contrast, other citizens think that there are various kinds of duties that we should take, and money cannot solve all the problems. One striking example is keeping the street clean and not littering everywhere. If lots of people drop their trash all the time, we never hire enough cleaners. Moreover, we have to follow the traffic rules and not cross the road at a red light. All of them are simple and free of charge, but when we all do them, we can maintain the good reputation of our society. It is more essential to give money only. To conclude, it is reasonable to consider that giving taxes, especially to the high-income working class, can provide a large contribution to society. It also cannot be neglected that having a good reputation as a good citizen is equally important to the community.