59.Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that publicity makes individuals stop being different and makes people want to be physically and mentally the same as others. This essay completely agrees with this statement because advertising persuades people to buy the same product and tries to make them “special” by buying their products. Normally companies will contact famous people who have a lot of fans to make advertisements for their products because it is easier for celebrities to contact a larger amount of people. Also, as the product is recommended by someone that the consumers like and trust, then, individuals are willing to buy it even though they do not like it, and this causes a large number of people to have the same things. Recent research concluded, that when products that are endorsed by celebrities are ten times more easily to be sold. There are many clothing, jewellery and bag announcements which show that only a small number of people can have them, and if they buy them, then they are special and superior to others. This is because companies know what the consumers are looking for, so they try to make the publicity sound like what individuals want, so the brands can increase the products purchased. For example, there are many perfume and bag advertisements, in which they will comment that in order to follow modern fashion, people should buy their product since is the most popular product in the world. In conclusion, publicity leads to a huge number of people buying the same product, and because of how the advertisements are made, people are willing to buy products to be more fashionable, I, therefore, believe that announcements make people look alike.