Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the income of famous people has exceeded that of politicians. The reasons for this are the increasing influence of stars and the disbelief in governments. I personally believe that this is a negative trend because it can instill an unhealthy perspective about society. People are now paying more attention to celebrities or KOLs and place a lot of beliefs in these opinions and statements. Therefore, large brands often book famous stars to introduce and review new products in the hope that they can attract more attention from the audience. On the other hand, politicians often have fixed salary ranges and fewer chances to have bonuses. Moreover, they also need a longer time to reach higher salary ranges than famous people. For example, Dang Van Lam - a famous goalkeeper in Vietnam was reported to receive 1 billion Vietnam Dong for a single advertisement with the pharmaceutical brand Tiffy while for a government officer, it took 2-5 years to be promoted to higher salary level. In my opinion, the increasing wealth of stars is a negative development for our society. The reason is that it can create a distorted view for adolescents and make them believe that as long as someone is famous, their statements are always right without considering their expertise or educational background. For example, during the Covid pandemic, lots of citizens in Vietnam believed that eating earthworms could prevent and cure the symptoms of Covid-19 after a famous singer shared the information on her social media posts even though doctors and the press warned about the negative ramifications of this act. In conclusion, celebrities are now making more money than politicians due to their influence and society’s disbelief in governments. The essay holds the belief that this is a negative development due to the fact that it can make people think incorrectly about society.