In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are adopting bad eating habits, which have detrimental effects on their health. Some counterparts of society believe that the legislature should impose a high HST on junk food that will result in people adopting better eating habits and lifestyles, while others argue this opinion. I, however, side with the first view, and a concrete answer is given below in subsequent paragraphs. With a tight schedule and a hectic lifestyle, it is hard for adults to focus on their diet. In addition, it is impossible to intake the right amount of nutrients in fast-paced lives. Office-going people usually prefer going to the drive-thru or ordering from platforms such as Uber Eats rather than taking home-made meals. Also, teenagers are fond of junk and frozen items, resulting in the slow development of their brains and health problems as well. To illustrate, the USA has the highest obesity rate of 56% with the lowest taxation rates. Easily available fast food ventures with low affordability prices lure individuals, and thus they land on fast food, which is concerning. Most of the population consuming fast food is aware of the consequences and results it can have on human health. By imposing higher taxes on these types of food, healthy food should be made more affordable by the government, and its advantages should be told to the modern generation. In other words, people of the early era used to live longer than people of the 20th century, as their eating habits were a lot better. Furthermore, fast food was not available then, and they used to consume natural resources, which resulted in slow aging. To conclude, by imposing a higher tax on fast food, the government should also make healthier food more affordable and available. Ayurvedic products should be advertised more than fast food chains which are just temporary craving satisfiers.