Many elderly people are no longer being looked after by their families, rather they are living in nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Gone are those days when families feel proud and have enough time to take care of their elders. Nowadays, many aged people are not getting the required support from their families and, as a result, they prefer to live in nursing homes. This trend has both advantages and disadvantages. Needless to say, the work culture and daily routine of people have been significantly changed over the years and have become very hectic and stressful. Consequently, most families are not able to provide enough time to be there with their old parents. This trend results in mainly two demerits. The first demerit is the separation of a joint family due to less emotional attachment among them. For example, kids are not getting an opportunity to make a bond with their grandparents and do not how to respect old people. The second demerit is forcing aged persons to live in nursing homes. Even though these take-care homes have all the facilities such as medical support, clean rooms, and staff assistance, many living in these places still face a lack of emotions and end up in depression and homesickness as there is nobody to talk with them. On the other hand, there are some benefits of this trend as well. Despite some flaws of nursing homes as discussed above, these places are really capable of tracking the health and medicine records of their residents. For instance, if a family is busy owing to a hectic lifestyle and is not providing necessary consideration to the health of their elderly family members, living homes designed for elders play a key role here as they provide these kinds of support effectively and serve their purpose. In addition, aged people also get accompanied by the same age people in these places where they not only share their good memories with each other but also can try to start the second inning of their lives. In a nutshell, it is quite evident from today’s lifestyle society that many families do not look after their elderly parents or grandparents and this forces these aged people to live in nursing homes. Some may see this as a positive trend while others, like me, see this as a negative one.