Space travel has been possible for some time and some people claim that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recently space tourism has been gaining in more and more popularity. I believe that the development of it in the future may result in both positive and negative effects, which will be elaborated in this essay. On the one hand, space tourism can bring positive impacts on both the economy, education and science. To begin with, the development in space tourism can provide new employment opportunities and investment opportunities for both businesses and employees. A higher number of space trips can be synonymous with the higher income brought to space -based services that cater to space tourists. In addition, space tourism can also provide a boost for research and education. Through space travel, tourists can gain deeper insight into outer space, broadening their horizons through activities that can never be found in boring and seemingly impractical science classes at school. In addition, to improve the quality of space travel, substantial research needs to be done and therefore encouraging more people to get involved in scientific research. However, the development in space tourism can inevitably result in some adverse impacts on the environment and the gap between the rich and the poor. Spacecraft launch is usually believed to lower the quality of air as well as contribute to worsening the issue of global warming. In addition, exhaust from spacecrafts’ engines can be responsible for long-term impact on the ozone layer. Another negative effect is widening the gap between the rich and the poor. Space tourism is usually exorbitant and not accessible to a large number of people in the world. This is the type of entertainment that may be enjoyed by only wealthy or super wealthy people; that is why this activity can create negative attitudes from the public as well as highlight the already significant gap between the privileged and the poor. In conclusion, although space tourism can be beneficial in terms of boosting the economy and education, it is my belief that this can also result in negatives.