Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, as technology grows intensively, numerous people pay attention to the internet especially from their mobile devices in order to get some information rather than using the old way either by reading physical newspapers or watching news programmes on the television. However, in this essay, I will elaborate to find out whether this is a good improvement or not. To begin with, there are several benefits of obtaining news from the Internet. Firstly, efficiency. Most individuals tend to have a lack of time, sometimes it is difficult to spare the time just to gain information by watching TV, especially buying physical newspapers with the condition in which we have a mobile phone, with just one touch, we can access some trends in this world through Google. Secondly, cost-effectiveness. Additionally, for example, based on a survey conducted by Folkative, 85% of households decided to stop subscribing to the physical magazine because it was more expensive while looking at the news website, you can get free. This idea started to push society to realize that offline news through paper is not a friendly budget. On the other hand, there is a major negative impact of this online news industry. People who work at bookstores, paper printing, and in the media industry started to lose their jobs, eventually, some of their salaries were cut because of the low profit, a result because most of the population was changing their behavior to digital. For instance, Gramedia, which has been the most popular offline bookstore in Indonesia, reported in 2021 that they had to lay off some of their precious employees due to a minus number in their financial reports 3 years back. In conclusion, the digital-savvy environment for looking at current issues through the internet is positive in some aspects, such as easier access and money-friendly. Although it is beneficial, we have to think respectfully and find a solution for the people who are negatively affected by this situation.