In many large cities, people have to spend hours driving in heavy traffic every day. What are the effects of this on society and the individual? What can be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, traffic is becoming more and more of a headache for society and authorities. Furthermore, in a number of cities, drivers can be stuck in traffic for hours, and that big of traffic can result in pollution and health problems. However, we can still take action to counteract this problem. Firstly, heavy traffic produces pollution, which damages our atmosphere. Traffic congestion increases vehicle emissions and degrades ambient air quality. Moreover, air pollution emitted from transportation contributes to smog, and to poor air quality, which has negative impacts on the health and welfare of people. Henceforth, drivers are open to diseases such as lung cancer, heart issues and road accidents, and being exposed to the daily hassles of traffic can also lead to higher chronic stress. Many studies have linked proximity to busy roads to a variety of adverse health outcomes in both adults and children, including respiratory symptoms, asthma attacks, decreases in lung function, heart attacks, and low birth weight. Additionally, the more congestion that drivers experience, the more frustrated they become, leading to cases of road rage. For example, when drivers are late for work or frustrated with traffic, they may begin to exhibit dangerous driving behaviours, such as speeding, cutting other drivers off, or tailgating. Sometimes the rage can escalate to fights, causing more unneeded congestion. However, we can take some measures to solve these issues. One way is to use more public transport. Not only does it reduce gas emissions, but it is also cheaper. Besides, governments should build more roads and have more train and bus services. Another thing the Council can do is increase parking fees, therefore drivers cannot bring their cars unnecessarily. In conclusion, although it can be very hard to deal with this unwelcome matter, we should try our best and think for the sake of this planet.