The up-bringing of children has a major impact on their personality. A part of society thinks that letting children take their own decisions will make them selfish when they grow up, while the other part finds it necessary for their holistic development. In my opinion, allowing children to choose what is good for them will make them strong and independent adults in the future.

In the recent decade, children's attitude and choices have changed drastically. It has become difficult for their parents to find out what their preferences are, therefore, letting them choose for themselves proves to be a good option. It not only enhances the child-parent relationship, but also allows them to find out what is best for them. For instance, if a child selects the type of shirt he wants to wear and his parent buys it for him, then it'll not only make the child jubilant but will also augment the feeling of comfort and reliability in him towards his parent. Moreover, freedom of choice from an early age plays a significant role in the development of the individual. It will inculcate a habit of taking informed decisions in children and make them aware of their preferences, giving them a strong sense of independence and the strength to stick to their values. But is it safe to allow them to take their own selections? While giving children the right to take their own decisions can be beneficial, it has certain drawbacks too. These include the threat of exposing the child to an unsafe environment, making them unhealthy by eating junk food and, of having adverse effects on their mental health by watching unsuitable things for entertainment. Hence, imposing certain restrictions can help in such situations. To conclude, the ability to take decision will improve if children start making their own choices which will eventually help in grooming their personality and giving them the opportunity and freedom to experience the world in their own way.