It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A great number of students who finish school decide to take a year break from their scholarly responsibilities. This is becoming a popular trend amongst youngsters. While the temporary abandonment of academic chores seems to have positive aspects, I agree with the view that students should keep on learning just after leaving school. Only some part of the world’s population has access to education, a fact that should never be forgotten. This situation must make us think about the importance that studies have and the great opportunities we should not decline. As a result, all of those who decide to stop studying are losing years of experience. Furthermore, whenever someone decides to postpone this issue, the probability of them going back to academic lifestyle declines. For example, if instead they decide to apply for a vacancy that does not require qualifications, they can find comfort in earning money and leave aside the possibility of studying forever. Young adults go through rough times when trying to pass all their subjects. This can evoke a feeling of sadness, stress or anxiety that affects students in a negative way. Indeed, the main reason why some people decide to stop studying for a period of 12 months is attached to mental health issues. However, the fact that many of them decide to freeze their professional life can cause them even more nervousness due to overthinking. In the end, this extra time that is perceived as a period of reflexing can also be disadvantageous for them. To sum up, although taking a break from academic issues can help students deal with their insecurities and mental wealth, this is very unproductive for them from a professional perspective. In my opinion, having a one-year time out does not help young people at all.