Some people think that the goverment should be responsible for crime prevention. Others believe that it is the responsibilty of the individual to protect themselves. Disucss both views and give their opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that the government ought to be accountable for preventing crime, other people claim that it is the duty of every citizen to safeguard themselves. In my opinion, I consider that the state plays an important role in deterring crime. On the one hand, it is maintained by some that the government is responsible for crime prevention because they can enforce strict rules to prevent crime, and I agree. In other words, the government has resources which help it to stop crime and catch criminals. For example, they have technology devices which help to inspect the expected crimes. Furthermore, it is their duty to protect the citizens because they pay taxes to the government. This is to say, that people should be safeguarded by their government because they pay for facilities and protection. On the other hand, many people are convinced that it is individuals’ duty to protect themselves. One reason is that people should be protected in their homes by themselves. To put it simply, if people lock their doors when they go to bed, they will be safer. Another reason is that when the government prevents people from doing something they should not do, it is their problem. For instance, if the state advises people to not go to the dangerous street at night, the citizens must listen and not do it. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that the crime rate will be higher if the government does not prevent it. Thus, the government is the main responsible for deterring crime.