In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Since there are huge varieties of thinking patterns in the world, in some cultural backgrounds younger people are taught frequently that they can gain things if they make bigger efforts than usual. Even though it has benefits, there are some drawbacks of this concept, hence I will examine those in this essay. To commence with, the fact that the younger generation believes what their adults advise them, so they take bits of advice seriously. For instance, if an adult tells a child to study very hard who is enthusiastic about getting high scores, he will definitely try his best by studying more. Moreover, even though if a child cannot reach his desired target, at least the younger one learns how to get out of his comfort zone, ultimately it is very valuable for his future. Thus, telling younger ones often to make bigger efforts, can uplift their life to come in a positive way. In contrast, sometimes advising the children time-to-time to do their best, can change their mental status in a bad way because they can become stressed and pressured. For example, some people have life traumas during their whole life due to unbalanced mental health caused by the stress in early childhood. Additionally, this can create competition among peer groups of smaller ages, such as making them jealous of each other. Thus, telling children frequently about the possibility of being the best by making a harder effort can cause loads of negativities too. In summary, though there are a lot of positivities such as motivating pupils to obtain good scores at school which is due to acknowledging them often about trying hard. Having said that, this concept affects in a negative way too for children considering the stress it creates.