In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern age, some parks and outdoor spaces for the community are being repurposed for gardens to grow natural foods. This author believes that the drawbacks of environmental problems and hard management outweigh the benefits of a physically strong lifestyle. One of the disadvantageous impacts of public gardens is pollution. It must be acknowledged that gardening activities require loads of techniques and materials such as fertilizers or toxicants. Indeed, because of affordable cost and high efficiency, many people use chemical fertilizers and pesticides for their trees. As a consequence, these chemicals are the main reason leading to environmental contamination, especially soil deterioration. Moreover, by using chemicals in growing activities, the products from these trees contain a significant amount of poison which can have seriously negative effects on consumers. For instance, nearly half of cancer patients in Vietnam come from eating foods containing pesticides. Another point to consider is that there are the majority of difficulties in garden management. To be more particular, these gardens are opened for publicity, so it is really hard for owners to manage and it can lead to many social issues like fruit thieves or litter from unexpected visitors. As a result, these problems are the reason for annoying, difficulties in management and can bring considerable inconvenience for owners in the long term. Take some countries in Asia as an example here, where residents prioritize cleanliness on top and local governments establish strict policies to punish unaware people in public sites. However, the public garden has the potential positive on individuals’ lifestyles. It must be recognized that organic foods play a vital role in life. By having more land, residents are encouraged to consume healthy fruits and vegetables which fosters a healthy and balanced diet. Thus, the convenience of owning a collective land cannot be deniable. Taking all points into account, the advantage of physically strong nourishment is outweighed by the disadvantages of pollution and the inconvenience of managing. Therefore, local authorities should promulgate suitable policies to resolve these problems.