Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days many people are migrating to urban areas either for their education or finding job opportunities. There might be two possible reasons for leaving their homes in rural areas and this essay will identify if the positives outweigh the negatives. Firstly, I would say that there are two possible reasons that can influence people to migrate. This is because they have various options to choose their desired schools or universities for their education. In addition, there are ample job opportunities in various sectors which allows them to earn a high salary and lead a sophisticated lifestyle. There are advantages and disadvantages associated with this migration. On the one hand, cities will be overcrowded due to an increase in population. In other words, if everyone started migrating to urban areas there would not be enough space for accommodation. Consequently, the government would destroy the natural resources to meet the growing needs of people such as food, and shelter. For example, a recent survey of the environment declares that 60% of green space has already been replaced by skyscrapers. On the other hand, people have an opportunity to lead a sophisticated lifestyle. This is to say that, living in a city provides people easy access to all facilities such as hospitals, public transportation, and shopping centres. As a result, they can enjoy a sedentary lifestyle even though they live in apartments or flats. For instance, in Canada, they are looking for ways to extend healthcare accessibility for citizens living downtown due to overpopulation. In summary, although living in the city allows them to access all facilities to lead a healthy life, the impacts due to destruction of natural resources to provide such facilities has a significant impact on the environment, which results in deforestation and global warming. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.