Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In several mega cities, a scheme involving the prohibition of private vehicles in the city center on specific days is being carried out by the government, intended to encourage people to use public transport and reduce the air pollution. From my perspective, I am totally convinced by this idea, and this essay will shed light on the rationale. On the one hand, vehicle-free days can significantly help reduce carbon emission and noise in urban areas. When personal vehicles such as cars, motor bikes are banned in city centers, it contributes to reduce traffic congestion and fewer emissions from combustion engines, which can help to enhance air quality and reduce noise levels. Therefore, this can have a positive impact on citizen’s health, this is because people are exposed to high levels of fumes and noise can lead to respiratory problems, cardiovascular disease, and other health issues. For instance, this can be seen in an annual vehicle-free day in America, where citizens in this country must leave their personal vehicles in the garage, the result is the air quality index has improved more than twice compared to the usual days. An additional benefit of vehicle-banning days can help promote sustainable transportation, such as public transit, cycling and walking. Thus, individuals are inspired to adopt more environmentally friendly commuting habits, which would result in less greenhouse gas emissions and a decrease of reliance on fossil fuels. As a result of cycling and walking instead of using cars and motorbikes, the physical well-being of individuals will experience improvement by reducing the likelihood of developing cardiovascular-related ailments and obesity. In conclusion, while there may be discomfort and interruption to certain individuals, the health and environmental merits make vehicle-free days become a worthwhile initiative and seem to outweigh the disadvantages.