More and more countries are making University education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is a worldwide phenomenon that a country invests money increasingly in the education sector to provide free university -level education to citizens. Even though this appears to be full of benefits, several demerits exist to this policy. On the one hand, if there are no tuition fees, it guarantees equal learning opportunities to all citizens regardless of their socioeconomic status. It is undeniable that students from disadvantaged backgrounds give up on continuing studying as costly tuition fees are unaffordable. Moreover, when a university education is entirely free, it enables students to concentrate on their studies without any distractions. For example, most undergraduates work part-time or rely on student load debts to cover their tuition fees, and this financial stress not only harms their academic morales but also leads to their faulty time management, where they cannot keep up with their lectures and evaluations. Nevertheless, the downsides of free education cannot be underestimated. For a start, if higher-level educational institutes such as colleges or universities are funded solely by the government, their insufficient budget can lead to the de-escalation of the quality of education. In fact, the tuition fees paid by students are allocated not only to running the facilities of a university but also to the professors and their research. Suppose this share of the budget for academic purposes diminishes due to limited but equal financial support from the government. In that case, the quality of education that a university provides will be downgraded inevitably. In conclusion, while students can benefit from free education at a university in the financial aspect, the potential long-term negative implications of the zero- tuition policy on the quality of education should be considered as well.