These days, school should focus more on producing young people who have the skills required to join the workforce, rather than focusing on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In today’s high-pressure working environment, it is more essential than ever to have the skills required to get and keep a high-quality job. If schools can provide this to students before they enter the workplace, this will help them enjoy a more satisfying career. Therefore, in my view, schools need to teach not only academic subjects but also social and career skills. It is clear that schools these days urgently need to provide students with as many opportunities to learn about the world of work as possible. If students leave school with insufficient knowledge in this area, life will be very difficult for them in future. For example, it is necessary for people to know the social skills to deal with problems at work, and the ability to get on well with their colleagues. As a result, they will be able to overcome the frustrations that are inevitable in any career and enjoy success in the workplace. On the other hand, it is still necessary for schools to teach academic subjects such as law or medicine at university, it will be necessary for them to have suitable academic training in order to be successful in this type of study. For instance, universities demand that students possess the ability to research and write in an approved academic manner. Consequently, students who do not possess academic skills will not be able to succeed at university, and therefore will be precluded from applying for a very wide range of highly paid jobs. These days, employers require a wider range of abilities than ever before. Although skills in the workplace are vital for many, it is still critically important that students are able to flourish in an academic environment in order to enhance and develop their careers.