Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, some people contend that taking alternative medicines and treatments could have a positive influence on various aspects, while others believe that it could lead to adverse detrimental repercussions. In this essay, I will address two diametrically opposed views and reason out the conclusion. There are several advantages that are worth considering. To begin with, trying alternative medicines and treatments is an easier and more affordable way than visiting their doctors in person. In America, It is tough to make an appointment and see a doctor. Thus, it makes patients prefer to apply herbal medicines or acupuncture instead. On top of that, they can reap those treatments with relatively reasonable price. In addition to this, people can control how to treat their problems. Based on their symptoms, they can not only try alternative medicines on one day but also have acupuncture on the other day. In spite of the merits described above, however, it could cause negative impacts. First of all, there is a possibility that patients have wrong knowledge about their health conditions. In the long run, it will affect to their health. From my experience, there was a patient when I was working at a dialysis center. People who do not have good kidneys should not eat a lot of fruits as it can exacerbate kidney's health. But this patients did not know that, so he took a myriad of fruits as he heard somewhere that having fruits would be helpful. This caused the patient to accelerate to take dialysis treatment. As well as this, once patients visit the clinic, the doctor diagnoses their condition on specific ample evident (e.g. blood test or x-ray), which prevents people from taking wrong medications or information. In conclusion, it can be observed that there are two different viewpoints, which are both, to a certain degree, convincing. Although it can offer merits, it seems to me that its risks far outweigh potential benefits. Therefore, I consider it as a negative development.