Many people argue that restaurants should be required to diclosure the nutritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advatages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that some argue that it should be mandatory for the restaurants to reveal the nutritional information of their dishes. While such innovation may have some drawbacks, it is my conjecture that the advantages outweigh them. The most important benefit of nutritional information disclosure is making a choosing process for people adhering to a healthy lifestyle or some specific diets more convenient. Unable to see all the nutrients contained in food, those with specific eating restrictions will have to call a waiter, who may not know this information, or simply leave the place. Even more important is that right now, some restaurants may save money by using cheap and sometimes dangerous health products with poor nutritious value. With the reveal of nutritional data, restaurants will not be able to hide threatening or unhealthy substances in food, increasing the level of customer safety. Turning to the other side of the argument, after disclosure a restaurant may lose some customers if the nutritious value of dishes is not as healthy as customers would like it to be. While without nutrients written in the menu regular people do not pay that much attention to what they eat, it can become astounding for them to find out what exactly they put in their mouth. Some small proportion of customers, therefore, may change their minds and leave the restaurant, decreasing the restaurant’s revenue. Taking everything into consideration, I believe that the advantages, such as simplification of the choice process for people with specific eating restrictions and safety of all customers, outweigh the drawback of losing some small percentage of customers for a restaurant.