Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernisation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernisation?

In this contemporary era, a plethora of regions around the globe are experiencing significant changes to become more modern areas than before. Modernisation is an instrumental tool to improve people's ways of living. However, several severe physical problems have emerged as a result of the modern transportation system that directly affects people's health. To embark on, modernisation supplies individuals with comfortable ways of living, and assists them to perfectly adapt to the fast-paced lifestyle. In other words, numerous employees have a limited timeframe due to their hectic schedules that require a certain way of commuting. Accordingly, when a city embraces change through the construction of up-to-date infrastructures and facilities such as new metro lines, it will significantly assist its citizens with their needs and eventually their productivity will subsequently increase. In addition to that modern countries have reaped benefits in terms of increasing number of tourists who may like to see and experience these modern places. Accordingly, the economy of these countries will flourish. For instance, In Japan, the number of tourists has sharply uplifted recently, when the Japanese government decided to attract their attention by providing them with the latest and most modern technologies. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned point, it can still be claimed that modernisation has its own demerits because of its negative impact on the environment. To illustrate, the dramatic rise in the number of factories and vehicles along with trees that had cleared to make way for roads and railways has a detrimental impact on the ecosystem because it participates in reducing the plant coverage. Moreover, the amount of vehicle exhaust has sharply increased. As a result, several physical illnesses have occurred such as pulmonary diseases and lung cancer. This can be exemplified by an article carried out by a group of American medical researchers who claimed that one out of three patients is suffering from lung cancer, and the incidence of lung cancer has gradually climbed in cities compared to the countryside due to the high level of carbon dioxide in urban areas. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be asserted that although modernisation plays an indispensable role in facilitating many people's lives by providing them with up-to-date transportation means, as well as, developing the economy of many countries, it also the main reason behind the emergence of many serious diseases.