Growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian-only zones. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

An increasing number of urban places are repairing city centres into pedestrian zones. This development leads to many positive repercussions, such as safe and ecological zones for citizens; however, it can contribute to many problems with traffic congestion. In the city centres, there are usually a lot of residents and public places where people usually walk, and transport can create a huge problem with their safety. In places with a lot of people, cars should be forbidden because drivers easily can harm walkers due to inaccuracy. This is why in crowded places any transport should be prohibited to save people ’s lives. Secondly, there are many environmental territories for individuals where they walk or do some physical activities to enhance their health quality, and cars would destroy the ecosystem due to detrimental emissions, and discard citizens from these places. These are the reasons why forbidden automobiles would create a safe and ecological territory for residents. For instance, since there are no vehicles in London’s most crowded places, many people can enjoy the city, and not worry about safety. On the other hand, this improvement contributes to many problems with traffic. Closing all roads that go across the city centre will create an issue for drivers and they will have to find another way to get to the place they need to. Many people will spend more time on transport because the length of the road will be longer, and because of the small variety of streets, there will be a higher number of traffic jams on the roads. For example, after closing all roads in the city centre of New-York, residents started to spend more than 15 minutes getting to their job every day. In conclusion, this essay discusses the safety and environmental advantages of closing urban cores for vehicles, and which problems will occur in the future because of that.