Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

The debate surrounding whether it is best for museums to require an entry fee or not has sparked considerable controversy. While this notion brings mere drawbacks, I firmly believe that its benefits are of higher significance due to the reasons this essay further elaborates on. To begin with, each culture has a precious history and objects showcasing them, which require taking care of. By gaining a sufficient amount of money from attendees, governors would be able to implement conservative methods, potentially preserving the objects being exhibited. Moreover, by introducing entry fees, only enthusiasts of the matter would attend, most of whom have grasped the importance of the historical objects. Consequently, they are less likely to conduct anything detrimental to them. To illustrate, the monumental municipality building of Rasht houses a museum with a prohibitively expensive entry charge that had not only helped the managers to make high-quality glasses surrounding the sculptures but also a decline in less sophisticated attendees. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this sentiment should not be overlooked. Providing an opportunity for individuals of any socio-economical status to explore these places, offers a tangible way to connect to their roots; therefore, anyone would be able to foster the knowledge of their ancestors. However, this situation comes at the cost of losing valuable and traditional monuments as people may cause harm to them due to their insufficient knowledge. Take the Persepolis site in Iran as an example; authorities have let people enter it for years and now, unfortunately, it can be seen that many have written their names on such monumental and intricate constructions. To conclude, despite the equal accessibility this notion offers, I subscribe to the fact that this free access leads to demolishment of the valuable pieces, diminishing the opportunity for the next generation to learn about their ancient cultural heritage and history.