In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact. What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle?

In many communities, people are now focusing on sustainable living and reducing environmental degradation. The challenges they are facing are an increase in the cost of recyclable products and a lack of education on the adverse impacts of environmental damage. The first issue is the total cost of producing recyclable products such as polybags is high. In other words, materials which are recyclable are more expensive than non-recyclable materials, and as a result, people prefer to buy cheap products. For example, as per data, the cost of producing plastic bags is almost half as compared to a paper bag or a cloth bag. Therefore, most of the shopkeepers prefer to use plastic bags over others as it saves their overall cost. Another issue is people do not have the required knowledge about saving the environment. This is because in developing countries such as India and Africa, almost half of the population is uneducated, and thus they do not have sufficient knowledge on how to save the environment. For instance, in research, it was found that more than half of the Indian farmers are not aware about the adverse impact of stubble burning, therefore, stubble burning pollution adds fifty per cent of total pollution in India. In conclusion, individuals are now focusing on better living and reduction in environmental degradation. However, the main challenges they are facing are the high cost of non-recyclable materials and less knowledge about this in uneducated people. Therefore, people should try to increase the use of recyclable materials and they should educate others about the adverse impact of environmental degradation.